#HeistClub: Why We Run

whywerunteaser

(Photo from MVE’s Instagram)

#HeistClub: Why We Run

  • Bayawak’s Trail by Justine Camacho-Tajonera
  • The Fraud Hunter Book 1: Chasing an ATM Schemer by Racquel Sarah A. Castro
  • The Retreat by Yeyet Soriano
  • Come With Me by Michael Recto
  • Inertia by Sette Luis

Buy them later for just $0.99 or PHP. 45.00! Watch out on HeistClub: Why We Run on buqo

Bayawak’s Trail by Justine Camacho-Tajonera

Marian Malabanan is an anthropology graduate student who just wants to study Manuvu folklore when she becomes embroiled in a murder, or what she considers an assassination, and with the Manuvus’ struggle with a paramilitary group in the hinterlands of Bislig, Surigao del Sur. Far away from friends and family, she can only rely on two people: Nanette Mamaril, her host and a local congresswoman; and the mysterious Gregoire Durant, a photographer and fellow anthropologist, who helps her navigate the dangerous minefield of Lumad ancestral lands and who advises her to keep quiet. Far away from friends and family, she can only rely on a few people: her host, a local congresswoman Nanette Mamaril;, and the mysterious Gregoire Durant, a photographer and fellow anthropologist, who helps her navigate the dangerous minefield of Lumad ancestral lands and who advisesing her to keep quiet. Can Marian figure out who was really behind the murder and would she live to tell her story? Or will her headstrong nature get her buried alongside the murder victims?

The Fraud Hunter Book 1: Chasing an ATM Schemer by Racquel Sarah A. Castro

Gabe Jacinto is assigned to capture a lady ATM Schemer, Teri Francisco. When Teri heard that he was dating the beautiful Carrie Rios, she plots on using her to trap the fraud hunter. Will Gabe risk his life and money to save Carrie even though he knows her true identity?

The Retreat by Yeyet Soriano

What would you be willing to do to get a deal with the biggest publishing company in the Philippines, which can guarantee local and international distribution and up to a million pesos in cash?

The challenge is to write a true-to-life crime story set in the Philippines that you have first-hand knowledge on. At least 75 percent of the manuscript needs to be completed within thirty days. You have to be willing to go on a week-long writers’ retreat in an undisclosed location to discuss your manuscript and be critiqued by the other participants and, afterward, revise and edit for publication.

The catch: You can’t tell anyone about the entire thing. There is no electronic trail—the invitation and follow-up are done in person by a messenger. You need to sign a nondisclosure agreement and a release, which basically removes any responsibility from the organizers whatever happens to you. You are not allowed to bring any gadgets to the retreat, meaning you will be completely cut off.

So . . . are you game?

Come With Me by Michael Recto

My name is Moira. I just turned 10. And I also want to turn 11, 12, and 13 too if I can. I couldn’t wish for anything more. I don’t want to meet Nanay yet. She already left us. It made Tatay and me lonely. I don’t want him to be lonely anymore. I don’t want to leave him yet. It makes him sad that I am always in pain. I don’t want him to be sad anymore. I don’t want to cry anymore. Tito Ador and Tita Mena also love me. I don’t want them to be afraid anymore whenever my chest hurts and I vomit blood. They all want to help me get well. I want to help them too so that I can get well. They help me convince my friends to come with me so that I can live. They are such nice friends. They give me their organs so that I don’t have to be sick anymore. My friends are the best.

It’s ok my friends. You can go on ahead to Heaven. Say hi to Nanay for me when you see her.

Can you help me?

I’m not a bad person. I just want to live.

Come with me.

Inertia by Sette Luis

Simon de Sel had always known he was adopted. When a dead woman named him emergency contact, he begins to question the truths he grew up with and his loyalty to the family who adopted him.

 

Leave a Reply

