The Hometown Hazard: Review + Excerpt + Giveaway

THH Banner

TheHometownHazardEb
Jules Coronado has been away from her hometown for almost a decade but when an intruder breaks in to her childhood home, she finds herself coming back. Changes evidently took place in her small town, including her childhood best friend’s younger brother, Kip – now tall, slightly scruffed, all grown up and caught climbing into their garden wall.

Kip Villamor has a mission and despite Jules’ doubts, they team up: going on fieldtrips, tackling unsuspecting men, and trespassing offices to dig up dirt. But Jules has secrets of her own, one that might be exposed – unless she keeps her walls up. But climbing walls are Kip’s forte, remember?

Will her secrets keep her on his side, or will it force her to disappear again?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

About Dawn Lanuza

Dawn Lanuza started writing stories when she was just a kid (they weren’t good or even finished). She works for the music industry by day and writes meet cutes and snappy comebacks by night. ‘The Boyfriend Backtrack’ is her first book. She currently lives with her family and an adopted dog.

Links:
Amazon

Goodreads

Twitter

Facebook

Review:

Racq Says: 5 stars! I love it! I like the way Dawn choose every scene. Mystery plus romance is an intelligent decision I guess! This is a must have! I can relate to Jules since I have that longing to visit our hometown every year. Grab your copy now!

Excerpt:

I sat next to him but kept a good distance between us. He studied me for a minute then sighed, “We’re on the same team, you know.”

I gave him a confused look.

“We’re after the same thing. So stop treating me like the enemy.”

A grimace formed on my face, “We are so not after the same thing.”

As if interrupting my thoughts, Kip interjected, “I’m rooting for your dad too. You’re protecting him. That’s why you found yourself looking for Elise Cabrera.” He paused for a minute before saying, “I’ve got a head start so you’re going to keep bumping next to me if you push through.”

I blinked, taking in what he said. He was right. He’s got a good head start. Whatever I find, he probably already knew.

“You know what they say, ‘if you can’t beat them, join them’?” Kip gave me a side glance.

Still not sure of what direction to take, I cupped my face and leaned my elbow on my lap. A part of me wants to say no right away because what he’s doing is bound to get him in trouble. But I was also getting curious. I wanted to know what this was about. Maybe my dad didn’t know about the whole thing. Maybe he ought to know.

I wrinkled my nose, “Fine.”

He paused for a minute then let out a laugh, “Wow. Did I just win my first argument?” I didn’t say anything back and just kept my face straight. “Do you know what this means?”

“It means less rash actions from you, more sensible ones from me,” I bit back. “And if we’re gonna do something wrong, we might as well do it right.”

Kip let out a snicker, eyes flicking back to me. “That’s…” He shook his head, smiling to himself.

“Less running too, I’m hoping,” I added.

He cleared his throat, “Just…one rule.”

“There are rules?” My voice hitched an octave higher.

“One,” He emphasized, like I haven’t been listening to him all along. “And you’re the one who’s all about the rules and the law and the plan. I thought you’d be psyched about this.”

Exasperated, I nodded, waving my hand as if saying, fine.

Kip shifted and caught my eye, lips tight, jaw clenching. “Don’t do anything behind my back. I’m going to have to trust you, okay? Maybe you should do the same for me too.”

Giveaway Time
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

