#BayongNgKuting : Let me try to write for kids

I thought everything is going to be easier. But writing for kids is a tough challenge. Last MIBF, Mina told us that she would be handling a class based on an award-winning children’s book.  I was so excited that I signed up the moment I saw Mina’s post about it.

We were told that we have to base our story to a book, Bayong Ng Kuting (A Bagful of Kittens) by Mae Astrid Tobias.

I was once a Sunday School teacher and I felt it was time to write for them.

It was hard to write for kids. But the #BayongNgKuting Class and its mentors made it a little easier.

I received my copy of the #BayongNgKuting book one week after the face-to-face class which i regret not attending.

God provided me wisdom to conceptualize a story a day before the submission of the story concept. Yes, He is truly faithful.

I finished my first draft and send it to my buddies, Mark and Yeyet. Then, Yeyet offered me a very advance birthday gift. (SEcret!)  Thank you Yeyet!

I also sent copies to my friends (Thank you!)

I successfully finished and submitted my final manuscript to Mina.

I was so inspired by the author of Bayong Ng Kuting, Mae Astrid Tobias. Her life will always be an inspiration. I want to write more for kids because of her passion.

 

The Tough Parts of Writing for kids

  • Choice of words. – I think when you are writing for kids, you must choose the right words to let them know your point.  Being a romance author, it was so hard for me. But through the help of God, my friends and family, I finished it.
  • What words can you introduce to kids – Widening children’s vocabulary is a writer’s goal when writing for children. It was so hard for me to select the perfect words to introduce.
  • Choosing the lessons to teach – I love to teach kids about God. That is my ultimate goal. God’s love has been the lesson I imparted to kids. Respect for elders is also a lesson that I include in my story.

I had so much fun in writing for kids. I learn that repeating phrases is important to have retention.

Watch out for the new breed of Cat stories soon. My Cat Story is entitled Cariño And The Three O’Clock Habit.

 

Leave a Reply

